I took a personality/work style profile assessment a week or so ago for work purposes. What I found out managed to confirm some of my greatest fears. I fit the perfectionist profile – ack!

I’m bothered by it solely because I so desperately want to be the laid back fancy-free type who can easily roll with the punches and take life in easy, breezy strides. As I write this I’m realizing how ridiculous that is considering even the “easy breezy” people in my life have times of stress, doubt and anxiety.

There are many blessings that will come out of doing this assessment, at least that’s what I’m believing ;-)

But my ‘ah-hah’ moment with the results came when I read the section that explains how people with my profile tend to need fact upon fact to make a risky decision. We need it all laid out for us. So I suppose it’s really not a risky decision then if you can predict the outcome… and herein lies the dilemma.

I believe in Jesus. I have a saving faith.

What is faith? Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. (Hebrews 11:1)

May day! May day! Perfectionism is the antithesis of faith. All hope is lost. I should just give up now.

Okay, totally unnecessary drama, but you see my ‘ah-hah’ moment? If faith is being certain of what we do not see and my tendency is to need all the facts to make a “risky” decision, what does my faith look like?

James 1:5-6 says:

If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.

If I ask, I must believe.

Oswald Chambers said in today’s devotional from My Utmost for His Highest:

“Are you debating whether you should take a step of faith in Jesus, or whether you should wait until you can clearly see how to do what He asked? Simply obey Him with unrestrained joy.”

This perfectionist is seeking to step out in faith and trust the Almighty God in a season of radical change. Here we go Jesus!

ps. I found this whole perfectionist thing quite comical as well because my house and my desk at work do not even remotely look like a perfectionist lives and works there. Just in case you were wondering ;-)

