I was on Facebook this morning and saw that a friend was visiting Colorado Springs and got to hit-up the Garden of the Gods. If you’ve never been there you need to go, it’s beautiful. Check it out:

Photo courtesy of peterwoz

I clicked through this friend’s page and stumbled on a blog and the bloggers profile picture was of a beautiful mountain scene in Colorado. I never tire of pictures like this. I could look at mountain scenes over and over again. My number one choice for a vacation is anywhere there are mountains. To say my heart longs for them is pretty much an understatement. And living in the flatlands of the Midwest doesn’t help this heart…

I’ve asked the Lord in prayers every once in awhile, sometimes randomly out loud if I know no one is in ear shot, and often in my thoughts like now as I type this—will I ever have the privilege of living in the mountains? Could You possibly have a ministry for me to serve in in such a setting?

I wonder, is it the mountains I crave or the adventure that I associate with them? Either way I love them and see God in His majesty in them every time I see them. Perhaps if I lived in the mountains I’d get used to seeing Him, but somehow I just don’t think that’s possible. His majesty is just too intense. Whether covered in snow, or full of foliage, to me they are one of the most incredible things God created. And I have a peace when I am there, in His presence in His creation with His majestic nature gently yet loudly whispering from these incredible masses of land.

Today I choose joy because I know He’ll do something with this mountainous desire, either quench it and refocus me or grow it and lead me there one day. Either way, I choose joy because He created them and I get to enjoy them, even if only through pictures.

my photo :-) whislter, BC

Psalm 36:5-7

5 Your love, O LORD, reaches to the heavens,
your faithfulness to the skies.

6 Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains,
your justice like the great deep.
O LORD, you preserve both man and beast.

7 How priceless is your unfailing love!
Both high and low among men
find refuge in the shadow of your wings.

