I read Genesis 48 today as I’m at the point in Beth Moore’s Believing God study where she takes us through the Hall of Faith in the book of Hebrews. Today was Hebrews 11:21: By faith Jacob, when he was dying, blessed each of Joseph’s sons, and worshiped as he leaned on the top of his staff.

She touched on one point and it stood out in a major way to me. Jacob, when blessing Ephraim and Manasseh, purposely crossed his arms so that his right hand was resting on Ephraim and his left hand on Manasseh. At that time, the blessing given to the first born was to be given by placing the right hand on him, in this case, Jacob intentionally put his right hand on the younger of the two sons. Joseph got a little fired up and told Jacob to switch his hands back, but Jacob knew it was God’s will to bless the younger over the older.

There are a few things here that are fascinating, but the one that really spoke to me today is the fact that the blessing was to be given to the first born yet God decided, in His sovereign plan, it should go to the second born in this case. Fabulous, big deal you might say. But that’s the thing, it IS a big deal. God decides what the “rules” should look like and He decides when to “break” them.

I like order. I like organization. I like things that have steps laid out for them A, B, C, etc. And while I know I commune with the God of order, I felt this passage showed me yet again (I need to hear a lesson 110+ times before I get it and even then I’m bound to forget it down the line) that my God, the Sovereign God decides how His story will look. How He will receive the glory.

In this case He decided number 2 would get the blessing. Why did God decide it had to be that way? I don’t know and even if I studied this in depth I’m sure there would still be some kind of mystery behind it. Because that’s just the thing. God doesn’t need a reason. He’s God. He’s in control. He’s got a perfect plan. And sometimes, His perfect plan “breaks” the rules.

The question to apply here is, will I trust Him in my life when He “breaks” the rules? When the plan He sets before me may seem contrary to what I thought would glorify Him most?

