In my Esther study this week we addressed ch. 6 v. 10-12a:

10 “Go at once,” the king commanded Haman. “Get the robe and the horse and do just as you have suggested for Mordecai the Jew, who sits at the king’s gate. Do not neglect anything you have recommended.”

 11 So Haman got the robe and the horse. He robed Mordecai, and led him on horseback through the city streets, proclaiming before him, “This is what is done for the man the king delights to honor!”

 12 Afterward Mordecai returned to the king’s gate.

And it was very fitting when I consider the path the Lord has brought me through. You see, when you read these verses and if you have read the chapters leading up to this moment, you see that Haman hates Mordecai yet, he has to honor him because of his own selfish motives. But the portion of this story that speaks the loudest to me is at the end when Mordecai goes back to the city gate. He was just honored and “showcased” if you will through the entire city, yet he simply goes back to work. He doesn’t seek more admiration, he doesn’t boast of the recognition that he FINALLY receives, he isn’t bitter even that it took this long to be recognized for the fact that he is the reason the king is still alive. Not to mention he was led through the city by the man that wants to kill him. His reaction goes against human nature in many ways.

And his reaction, returning to his normal life with no expectation, is inspiring and convicting to me, mostly because that is not my nature.

While I hate to be the center of attention, I do have a serious pride issue that the Lord has been graciously breaking me of over the past few years (although I’m pretty sure this will be a lifeling process). A few years ago, if I had been in Mordecai’s shoes I would have gone back to work as well. However, I would be silently relishing in my obvious victory, would gladly accept any praise and honor people gave me, all the while presenting a false humility to the giver(s) of this praise. When in reality, all the praise and honor goes back to God. Because even though Mordecai did not “see” God nor know how this happened, he did know (you can assume this from his previous behavior in the book) that it was nothing of his own volition but rather God’s plan and favor on him.

I wonder, how many times have I “stolen” God’s thunder so-to-speak? Whether that is through false humility or even not acknowledging that yeah, what God has done in my life is pretty stinkin’ amazing!

Something for me to chew on for awhile…

 

