Last week in our Bible study, Walking by Faith, we were challenged to know God’s Word and how His Word, when buried in our hearts, is one of our greatest weapons in times of battle. In our homework for the week she asked us to remember a time when God’s Word became so real for us in a time of need.

Well, every Monday I try to bring a message to the women that closes our evening and spurs us into the next week of study. I always stick to the Bible and try to discern what the Lord would like me to tell them. Well, this week, when I remembered a passage that meant the world to me in a very dark and sad time, I felt the Lord pressing upon me that I needed to get personal and tell them about that passage of scripture. I don’t like to get into my personal testimony on Monday nights all that much. Not because I am afraid of sharing, but rather because I prefer to keep all our eyes on God and nothing else. But this Monday night, I knew he wanted me to share, and this is what I said…

Almost 18 months ago, I went through one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to go through. At the time, I felt it was my greatest failure. And the problem was I couldn’t hide. It was a public failure. The kind where everyone knew and there was no way to “take cover.” I felt exposed, foolish, embarrassed and inadequate, you name it. God had taken the people that knew me best, better than anyone, away from me and there was nowhere to run or hide, except to Him. And this was the scripture He gave me:

1 Peter 5:6-10:

6Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. 7Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

8Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 9Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that your brothers throughout the world are undergoing the same kind of sufferings.

10And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.

Here’s my breakdown:

v.6 for me, I had to be humbled. People that know me know that I have the stubborn will of an ox. My prayer is that as women, we will learn to humble ourselves before He has to, but sometimes we are too stinkin’ stubborn and He has to step in. But the verse continues to tell us that He will lift us up in due time. I can tell you right now, in due time, He lifted me up. Sometimes we have to be knocked down so we can get up.

v. 7 the Lord removed the people closest to me during this time and I had to cast all my cares and anxieties on Him. Even when I tried to go to people for comfort, they just couldn’t say anything that was really helpful. It was then I learned to cast all my anxieties on Him and got to see that He really does care.

v. 8 one of the hardest things to do in a time when you feel unstable is to be self-controlled and alert. In this time I couldn’t discern between the Lord’s voice and the voice of the enemy. It was like God was telling me watch out, in this refining you will be attacked. Be alert! And He was right. I was prime territory for the enemy to pounce.

v. 9 I knew that what I was going through was horrible, but I also knew I wasn’t the only woman on this earth who had been through it. In fact, God was so good to bring women into my life that could truly understand what I was going through and help knock me into place. Nothing is new under the sun.

v. 10 and this was the meat and potatoes for me.

1. the God of ALL grace, not some, ALL!

2. called you to His eternal glory – eternal glory! Never-ending glory! That is what He has called me to… absolutely incredible

3. after you have suffered a little while – it says a little while, not a long while. And from the perspective of an eternal glory, even if I suffer all my life on earth, what do 80-100 years compare to eternity? Nothing!

4.  will himself restore you – that’s it, that’s the promise right there! He will restore me. It doesn’t say maybe, potentially, it says He will!

5. and not only will He restore me, but He will make me strong, firm and steadfast! I will come out better than I went in, all because of Christ Jesus. Amen!

The key in all this to acknowledge TIME. It all takes time and the Lord’s timing is perfect, and often different than ours, BUT He truly knows what’s best. When I was going through this failure, dealing with the aftermath, I remember crying out to the Lord, PLEASE! Make this go away, just fast forward, heal my heart, get me through this already. And I prayed that for months. But God knew, I needed the refining process to get me closer to Him. If he had answered my prayers at the time, allowed me to fast forward, I would not be the woman I am today. I would not know my God so intimately and confidently if I didn’t go through His refining fire.

So this week as we learn to wait on God, remember, He will restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast! Even if the situation you are in doesn’t make any sense, God knows and promises to lift you up in due time.

 

