This week in our study Walking by Faith, the last two days focused on fear vs. feelings. Which lead me to think about Mary, the mother of Jesus. A little less than a year ago, her story really hit hard with me for some reason. And it does again today.

In Luke chapter 1 we are introduced to her. We all know the story, I don’t need to recount it for you… I went back to read her story and the scripture started to jump off the pages yet again.

After the angel has told Mary she will conceive and have a child she asks how this will happen. The angel answers her in verses 35-37. But I want to focus on verses 36-37, where the angel says, “Even Elizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, and she is who was said to be barren is in her sixth month. For nothing is impossible with God.”

I love this! God knew that this news would scare Mary, who wouldn’t be scared, overwhelmed, etc. None of it makes sense to our human brains, in fact it seems rather bizarre and highly unlikely. But that’s just the beauty of it, God knew that’s how the news would appear so the angel testified to another miracle taking place right at that time: Elizabeth’s pregnancy. I love it, God used His angel to testify to His servant about His power.

Such a picture of the Lord meeting us right where we are, knowing what we need right when we need it and providing it. He met with the mother of our Savior right when she needed it. And Mary’s response:

“I am the Lord’s servant. May it be to me as you have said.”

Perhaps Mary is just all that much holier than I am, but I can’t help but believe, reading this passage again, that it was a little easier for her to choose to trust her God because of the angel’s testimony to the impossible taking place in her cousin’s womb at that very moment.

I’m sure questions and uncertainties were raging through Mary’s head at that time, and I can’t imagine it was easy for her to say what she said – to immediately commit herself to the Lord like that. But reflecting back on my own journey, where I have been and what I have been through, hearing stories of God’s people persevering, stories of God’s people receiving blessings, experiencing the miraculous, I know those stories have helped me face the task at hand with much greater ease. To believe God for what might have seemed like the impossible to my feeble mind. And I think that was the case here, the Angel of the Lord knew, from His master that this servant needed to hear the testimony of a miracle.

Thank you Lord for stories like this, real encounters with the Living God that encourage me to move forward in you. To trust you more, to choose to trust you and not my feelings of fear, inadequacy, helplessness. You are a mighty God who meets me right where I am, indescribably incredible!

