the Lord met me in such a sweet way on sunday, and it was perfect timing as tonight was the first night of our new bible study at church.

it is always so incredible to me how the Lord will direct me to read a certain book in the bible and i might read it for weeks and its good, as the word always is, but i’m not necessarily seeing the personal application. then one day, suddenly it makes sense and i see why He has directed me there. this happened on sunday while reading jeremiah.

jeremiah 17:5-8 says:

This is what the LORD says:
       “Cursed is the one who trusts in man,
       who depends on flesh for his strength
       and whose heart turns away from the LORD.

 He will be like a bush in the wastelands;
       he will not see prosperity when it comes.
       He will dwell in the parched places of the desert,
       in a salt land where no one lives.

 “But blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD,
       whose confidence is in him.

 He will be like a tree planted by the water
       that sends out its roots by the stream.
       It does not fear when heat comes;
       its leaves are always green.
       It has no worries in a year of drought
       and never fails to bear fruit.”

let’s back up a second… that was the 11th morning in a row, waking up on my living room couch, or should i say trying to sleep on my living room couch. i was pretty crabby and annoyed right when i got up. but instead of laying there and trying to think of all the things that needed to get done that day i decided to get up and be productive. so, at 6:15 in the morning i balanced my budget, started laundry, made my grocery list and was out the door by 7 am to the grocery store (which was perfect timing as then shelly could spend time with the Lord without me there and by the time i got back she would be out the door since she is in the worship band at church). anyway, i am sure no one at the grocery store could tell i would be heading to church that day. let’s just say i didn’t exactly have the look of joy on my face.

so, jumping back to the bible verses. i sat down to do my quiet time and there it was. exactly what God has been trying to show me and help me to “get” through this whole trial with the basement and insurance, etc.

do you want to be blessed lindsey? or do you want to be cursed? will you put ALL your trust in me? or are you going to put it in the insurance company? are you going to put it in the carpet guy? i want to make you like the tree planted by the water. will you let me?

all i thought was, wow, how i’ve missed the mark on this one. and YES LORD! i want to trust You and You alone, nothing else will be sufficient!

it was the perfect message for me at the perfect time and i am so thankful that the Lord knows what i need before i ever do! i had no idea when i started to read jeremiah that this is where i would end up. i had no idea i would read just that passage at just the perfect time on the perfect day.

He is so good!

it also turned out to be the biggest blessing, as the title of the women’s bible study this time is walking by faith: lessons i learned in the dark. 

and i as i thought more about this study and what it means to walk by faith, i came to the obvious conclusion, we can’t walk by faith if we don’t first trust God. with EVERYTHING. so not only did He reveal what He wants me to do, trust Him in all of this, but He also gave me an encouraging word for the women.

again, He is so good!

clearly i don’t know all that the Lord is doing right now. i know i’m feeling turned upside down with our current living arrangements and the state of the condo (sleeping, eating and hanging out in the same room is not all that great) but i also know the Lord wants me to trust Him, to rely on Him, to consider it pure joy as i face this trial and to trust Him with all my heart, not leaning on my own understanding, but in all my ways acknowledging Him so that He can make my path straight. praises to the King of Kings who NEVER abandons me :)

