one week from today we will be leaving the flatlands of the midwest for the peaks of washington sate, and i have to admit, something is quite off right now. i didn’t really get a single good night’s sleep in france and i haven’t since i have been home either. every night i seem to fall into that strange shallow sleep where you know you are dreaming but don’t care to wake yourself up. and all my dreams have been totally bizarre, making no sense at all – especially since i am not one to dream a lot. however, there is one constant theme, a mountain is always involved in some way, shape or form (go figure).

what i have realized through these restless nights, the climb i did in france and the anticipation of mt. rainier, is that i really have absolutely no control over the end game. i have done all i can do, i have trained harder for this than anything in my life, i have read and read and read about what i should know and do in advance, i have all the gear i could possibly need and even reserved the things i don’t have. i plan to drink tons of water on the way up to combat altitude sickness and have more determination to reach the top than i’ve ever had to do anything in my life (including finishing the marathons i’ve run).

but in the end, i am at the mercy of the weather, altitude acclimatization and the temperament of the mountain that day (if that makes sense). and as i linger in this place of unknowns, i keep hearing the Lord say, “trust me.” He created the mountain i plan to summit, He controls the weather, He formed and fashioned this body that i have pushed to the limits. He is in control and i need to rest in that and be peaceful. i can not forget what He has already shown me: He is my protector, my salvation, my comforter, my keeper, my Father, my Savior, my redeemer, my friend. He is my everything. and with Him all things are possible.

so i ask you to pray for me, to pray for pia, to pray for our guides, and to pray for all the people we will be climbing with. i ask you to pray that we would grow so much closer to our God through this adventure, that we would praise Him in the good and the bad, and trust Him and His will. that regardless of outcome He is sovereign and has control therefore, i have nothing to be anxious about.

thank you friends, i wish i could express to you the gratitude i truly feel in my heart for all you prayer warriors interceding on our behalf.

this song just seems too perfect for this time:

Wonderful, merciful Savior
Precious Redeemer and
Friend
Who would have thought that a Lamb
Could rescue the souls of men
Oh you rescue the souls of men

Counselor, Comforter, Keeper
Spirit we long to embrace
You offer hope when our hearts have
Hopelessly lost the way
Oh, we’ve hopelessly lost the way

You are the One that we praise
You are the One we adore
You give the healing and grace
Our hearts always hunger for
Oh, our hearts always hunger for

Almighty, infinite Father
Faithfully loving Your own
Here in our weakness You find us
Falling before Your throne
Oh, we’re falling before Your throne

