pia and i trecked up to wisonsin today to hike at kettle moraine state park. i must say, one of the coolest things about all this training is it’s forcing me to finally check out some of the great sate parks around the area.

this was a rather comical six hours on the trail and i thought i could describe it but, i think a bullet point list is the best way to go.

  • first encounter with the steroid enduced mosquitos, “my scalp! that punk bit my scalp! my scalp!”

(pointing out the enormous welts on my face)

  • who knew you had to put bug spray on your face!
  • mosquitos dive-bombing my neck
  • a carcass with its spine exposed in the middle of the trail (did not take a picture of that, ew!)

  • more worms than i ever care to see in one place at one time

(we walked through that and my feet were perfectly dry!)

  • learning that my boots really are water proof!

  • sneakers on the other hand are not
  • getting in the car at the end of the day, asking pia if she’d like AC. pia’s response as she roles up the car window, “goodbye nature!” we laughed : )
