i’ve gotten used to the fact that i have to be very creative with my “free” time (free time to me is any time i’m not at work). training takes a lot of time, preparation for the bible study takes some time, preparing meals for the week, keeping my house in order (this has seriously fallen by the way side, not to mention it is soooo hot since my AC isn’t working, go figure), oh right, and trying to maintain some kind of social life…

one thing i have really come to truly appreciate though, is my time with the Lord. prior to training i would get up saturday mornings, grab a cup of coffee and curl up on my couch (which is like a little slice of heaven for those of you have not been to my house) grab my bible, my journal and my devotional. it was my most favorite time of the week! there truly is nothing more refreshing, rejuvenating, invigorating, than spending long periods of time in the Lord’s presence.

as you have probably assumed, that time has been much harder to come by. and just as i was beginning to get super discouraged, the Lord reminded me of a time last summer when He and i would have lunch dates. sure, that might sound cheesy, but whatever, clearly i’m not afraid of sharing things here, remember the hip hop class this pearl-wearing girl from CT took? anyway, so that’s what i did today and will keep doing. i had a date with God at lunch and it was wonderful. there is a little park down the street from moody so i headed there with my blanket (that never leaves my office, just for this reason) and opened my bible, my journal and my devotional. such a sweet time : ) this, i know, is what will sustain me through the craziness of life!

the fountain at the park

deuteronomy 6:5: love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.

